top of page
  • Michael Fallanca

Ask Mike: How do I know my major is right for me?

No one truly knows what is right for you, except you. Not mom or dad, grandma or grandpa, even your friends who think they might know you best.


College is the time where you truly become who you are as an individual and shape the adult you will be in life. Most of us have heard the expression “if you love what you do you'll never work a day in your life.”


I think this holds true through the statement, "if you love what you learn, your education will come easy to you."


I’ve actually switched majors twice in my college career. I guess third times the charm right? But the difference in motivation, work ethic and overall happiness has shown me that my current major is right for me. Everything seems to have fallen into place for me. Not only am I excelling in my courses, but taking part in extra curricular activities and side projects I never would have thought to get involved in with my past majors. If you feel like you love every aspect of what you are doing (even the boring stepping stone classes and labs) I’d say you have found yourself in the right place.


Again, no one will ever truly know except for you. But coming from the guy who took a few years and a few tries to get it right, you’ll feel that click, the change. Something in the back of your mind that says, "this is it, I can do this for the rest of my life and be happy."


I advise you to take a second, look at the whole picture and envision yourself in the career you are working towards. Is it the way you pictured yourself living life? If these things are all adding up, shaping the world you wish to live in, then I’d say you are on the right path. Think of your major like your house when you're in college. You might move around a bit and try some different configurations out, but when it all feels right and cozy, you’re home.



bottom of page